iorewsimple.blogg.se

Goldwave digital audio editor for mac
Goldwave digital audio editor for mac








  1. #GOLDWAVE DIGITAL AUDIO EDITOR FOR MAC SOFTWARE#
  2. #GOLDWAVE DIGITAL AUDIO EDITOR FOR MAC PC#
  3. #GOLDWAVE DIGITAL AUDIO EDITOR FOR MAC MAC#

Scott's SoftDAC was a new high watermark for audio reproduction on an 8-bit Apple. I first ran across it on America OnLine, in a little demo called "Insert Disk." This was attributed to another author, but a perusal of the playback routine shows that it is, in fact, Alfter's.

#GOLDWAVE DIGITAL AUDIO EDITOR FOR MAC MAC#

Then, in 1990, Scott Alfter wrote a little suite of programs to play Mac sound files on any Apple ][. These limits were repeatedly tested by the talented programmerrs like Paul Lutus, who in 1981 wrote electric Duet, which produced real two-voice, reedy music! A host of other programs used similar techniques during the 80's, but the fundamental (harmonic?) tyranny of square waves continued. It worked but the results could hardly be confused with hi-fi! Both the input digitizer and the output device were limited to 1-bit resolution, essentially capturing and reproducing only the zero crossings of the input signal, so everything was infinitely clipped or "fuzzed" to the very edige of recgonition! A number of authors since have used this approach in programs like "Audex", "Doubletalk", and "Digicorder".Īpparently the Apple ][, for all it's wondrous capabilities, had serious limitations in recording and reproducing audio. In fact, I wrote mini-assembler routines to do just that, and an APPLESOFT program to use them to "read" hex dumps to me so I could check my typing against hex listings in magazines. This article goes into a bit of the history of sound on the Apple and how my current SoftDAC came in to being.īack in 1980, when I purchaed my first (16 kB, cassette) Apple ][+, I was intrigued by the possibility of using it's cassette input to digitize sound and it's speaker to play it back. In this case, it refers to the process of taking a (digital) byte from memory and turning it in to a (analog) sound. What's DAC? DAC is an acronym for Digital to Analog Converter. I typed it up as it appeared on screen.typos and all. I hope you find it as intriguing as I did. I was wayyy too young to understand the article then, but I do now. This originally appeared in Softdisk #149.which was published around March of 1994.

#GOLDWAVE DIGITAL AUDIO EDITOR FOR MAC SOFTWARE#

I can't remember if someone asked about a software dac being done in the past on here (forum search turned up nothing).but something like that strikes a and screenshots (and audio from emulated output) are below. This program apparently uses an entirely software based DAC. I played with that program for probably 3 months splicing the small audio samples together in the limited ram size of the Apple.Īnyway, I know this isn't Goldwave related.but it's audio related and I wanted to share it with a bunch of like-minded indviduals. Not a cheesy ding.but actual sampled audio.then I heard it play some sampled speech. I was VERY surprised to see a waveform envelope window and was completely shocked when I heard a bell sound. I, out of curosity thinking it would allow you to create horrible digital bleeps and screeching, loaded it up. Contained on that issue was a program called Sound Editor. Issue 149 had something on it that really intrigued me.and in fact.I'd have to say if anything started my obsession with digital was this issue. The 8-bit version ended in August of 1995.having been in print for just about 15 years.

#GOLDWAVE DIGITAL AUDIO EDITOR FOR MAC PC#

In 1994 I was a subscriber to Softdisk, which was a monthly disk publication for the this time they also had a IIgs, Mac and PC edition.but they were still cranking out the original 8-bit issue and not only did I reorder the back issues from my early childhood that I'd lost (since at the time I still had my Laser 128 clone).but took a new subscription because, hey, new software for the Apple was a great thing. If you did, then you know that without purchasing some expensive hardware, your apple was limited to basically harmonic beeps and noise. I don't know how many of you owned an Apple ][ or //e back in the day.but they were somewhat fun, if not very limited computers.










Goldwave digital audio editor for mac